Thing #10: Symbols on Flickr

For my Flickr exploration, I chose the topic of symbols.  As an English teacher, I am always looking for visual ways to engage my students, especially with abstract literary concepts like symbolism.  I think it would be neat to ponder some symbols that are recognized around the globe and some that are not so recognized.  Maybe students could even design their own symbol, representing their own personal identity.  By seeing symbols visually and then creating their own visual image, they would more easily connect to the sunsets in the novel The Outsiders.

Symbol of the Day:  Daughters of the American Revolution

Daughters of the American Revolution 

Image by Leo Reynolds

I was intrigued by this symbol because of the role of girls in the American Revolution, and because the symbol is intricate and unique.  This symbol is most likely unknown to students, so it could warrant an interesting discussion about what it might represent, who were the “daughters” and why did they need a symbol?

 I LOVED Flickr and I wish I knew more about all its wonderful tools long ago!  I strongly believe that kids today are hugely visual consumers.  I use pictures to inspire writing in my classroom on a regular basis, and I try to tap into their visual tendencies and interests.  What a wonderful new tool to add to my arsenal.  National Poetry Month is during April, so I just may have to try out a poetic Flickr twist!  Stay tuned!

Comments are closed.